I Don’t Want A Lot For Christmas

Just a new beginning, that’s all.  Ok, so perhaps I didn’t put that on my list, and perhaps my list isn’t really that short, but if I am going to be honest, a new beginning is just what I need.

This year has been a big one for me.  I’ve learned more things in a twelve-month period than I have in years before that, and I’ve grown up quite a bit.  I’ve settled on a dream to follow, and I’ve followed it over several rainbows (and troll bridges) already.   But now, I’m ready for a new adventure.  This is a good time of year for starting new things: people are wrapping up their affairs from the past year, and preparing for the one to come.  The best part is, they do it in an all-around joyful way by giving presents, throwing parties, and spending precious time with family and friends.  It’s a time of celebration, which I think is very appropriate.  Beginnings are auspicious things, and should be given due notice.

So, here I am, beginning something.  Yes, it’s just a blog, but to some one like me, it’s also an outlet to allow my faculties to run free.  Although I’m still young and have yet to do much of anything big, I am a writer, and as such, I do need a place to write and share my thoughts.  I think this place will work.

If you’ve read my About page, you already know my subject matter is culture, and that I want to offer a unique perspective on it.  Whether or not I’ll succeed is yet to be seen, but a little background will give my readers somewhere to start from:

I’m sixteen, and I live in one of the most beautiful places on earth, Colorado Springs.  My family is active-duty military, so after fourteen moves, I’ve seen my fair share of the U.S.  I was homeschooled for most of my academic career, although my parents let me loose for one year of what I like to call “actual school” last year.  Without the years of careful, loving teaching my parents gave me, I would never have survived even that single year of highschool.  Currently, I’m studying through a hybrid program that allows high schoolers to take college classes at a local community college, and I’m loving it.  Learning is the passion that birthed my love of writing, and I’m getting my fill of both in my classes.  My readers should probably also be aware that I am a bibliophile in the most extreme sense of the word, so if the occasional obscure literary reference does crop up in my posts, please forgive me and ask for an explanation.

My family is my rock and my roots, my friends are my teammates, and my God is my entire existence.  I am not ashamed of that, and it does and will affect the way I write.  If my readers take offense at this, then please, don’t stop reading.  I did promise a unique perspective, and the combination of my life’s experiences and philosophies is what provides me with that perspective.  My readers may be surprised at what that perspective may offer.

Well, that is me in a nutshell.  I count myself a queen of infinite space because of it (Oh drat, a reference already…).  I hope at the very least my readers find this blog entertaining, if not informative, and that I can direct a unique light on modern culture.  Enjoy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Critiques, Questions, or Observations

